August 25, 2009

Today the thought actually entered my mind that I am getting sick of gardening.  I know that this is just in response to the horrible drought and high temperatures we are experiencing here in Austin (we are up to day 65 over 100 degrees so far this summer).  We’ve moved into Stage 2 water restrictions here meaning that I can only use the sprinklers once a week, so I am spending a couple of hours each morning and afternoon hand watering while sweating like a mountain goat on the beach.  I thought that perhaps a little post and some photos of the progress in my yard to date might cheer me up and make me a little less grumpy and get me thru these dog days of summer.  000_0135This was my house on the day I bought it in September of ’04.  It was a HUD home that had quite obviously not been loved in a LONG time.

000_0141Here is the backyard.  No privacy at all and I had one tree and it’s kind of sick.spring05A few improvements in the spring of ’05

spring06Spring of ’06spring07Spring of ’07spring08In the Spring of ’08 I built a wall out of limestone.  It was a lot of work but I really like the end result.

Assorted and house and yard 017This is the most recent photo of the front.  Assorted and house and yard 021Another view.  I’m trying to disappear from the street.  I think I’m doing a pretty good job of it.Assorted and house and yard 010Here’s a view of the back yard.  Assorted and house and yard 011I just recently installed a sliding door in my guest bedroom.

Assorted and house and yard 012Another view of the back.Assorted and house and yard 028A different angle.  Nearly the entire back yard was landscaped this summer.  Here is a photo of the yard in March of this year.

shed dog house yard 010shed dog house yard 011This is a shot from inside the veggie garden that I had to sacrifice to build my new shed.

At this point I’m just trying to keep things alive in the yard.  My yard will be on the Inside Austin Garden Tour on October 24 and I still have so much to do before I’m ready.  I’ve only got a couple of months, so I’m hoping to get a cold front and maybe some rain before it arrives.

Anyway I hope you enjoyed this little post.  Any words of encouragement or advice on keeping plants alive would certainly be appreciated.

Happy gardening.

6 Responses to “”

  1. Caroline Says:

    You don’t need my advice — your grass is green! Everything looks great! Whatever doesn’t respond to your TLC, just kick it to the curb — survival of the fittest!

  2. Pam/Digging Says:

    We have to encourage each other or else we’ll all give up! So hang in there until October, when we’re bound to get some relief, in temps if not rain (though I’m optimistic enough to hope for that too).

    Your garden transformation is fantastic! Great disappearing-house trick in the front yard, letting your plantings shine. And the back looks shady and inviting, with much more interest and privacy than in the “before” picture.

    What is the Inside Austin garden tour? Is that the Master Gardeners tour?

  3. horselips Says:

    Thanks for the kind words, fellow gardeners. Yes, Pam, the Master Gardener’s put on the Inside Austin Garden tour. I hope to see you here at the house!

  4. Cheryl Says:

    It’s funny how we both did this post idea at the same time? Without talking about it? We’ll get there…your yard is amazing, and so are you! It’ll be fun at A&M, just getting out of town for a few days will put things into perspective…then we can gear up for our last trip to Seguin before the show…it’ll all be over soon!

  5. Jenny Says:

    What a wonderful transformation and we get to check it out in person on the garden tour. I’ll be there.


  6. What a lot of work you’ve done — and it all looks great! Looking forward to a closeup view during the tour.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

