Bloom Day March 15, 2009

March 16, 2009

Well Spring has sprung here in Central Texas.  We’ve had such a mild winter and finally this past week got some much needed rain (I got just over 3″) and it’s amazing how quickly it changes things.  Many of the plants that are currently  blooming have been blooming almost all winter.

Dianthus

Dianthus

For example, the dianthus are all covered in blooms.  You may remember that last month they were resting, but they are all covered in flowers this time.

Dianthus "Spooky Mix"

Dianthus "Spooky Mix"

This “Spooky Mix” is one of my favorite winter bloomers.

Viola

Viola

The violas were going CRAZY today.

More violas

More violas

Still more violas

Still more violas

bloom-day-march-043The snapdragons are still blooming with more on the way.

bloom-day-march-028The statice has really exploded with blooms.  bloom-day-march-029The purple snapdragons blooming in with dusty miller

Pink thrift

Pink thrift

Kangaroo paw

Kangaroo paw

Mystery cactus

Mystery cactus

This is a cactus that was growing in my garden when I bought the house.  I don’t know what it is and would appreciate any help in identifying it.  It has very few thorns and grows in an upright manner.  There are several in the neighborhood and some are growing up as tall as 15 feet.  They don’t like freezing weather and will die back on cold winters.  Any guesses?  Anyway, it’s completely covered in blooms at the moment.  Not real showy, but interesting don’t you think?

bloom-day-march-021This rose bush is covered in blooms.  It was also here when I bought the house and I have no idea what type it is.  It looks a lot like Martha Gonzalez but it’s covered in thorns.  It puts up long 6 foot canes in the summer and blooms constantly.  Here are a few more blooms.bloom-day-march-022bloom-day-march-023Any ideas?

Nicotiana alata

Nicotiana alata

This is the first flower on my flowering tobacco.  It smells great!

Calylophus drummondianus

Calylophus drummondianus

This square-bud primrose is just about to open.  I thought the bud was kinda cool so it gets a photo.

Eschscholzia californica

Eschscholzia californica

I was so excited this past week when the California poppies started blooming.  I scattered hundreds of seeds around in every flower bed this winter, so I will have these blooming all over the place and for a long time.  I just think these have the coolest flowers.

Verbena bonariensis

Verbena bonariensis

The verbena has bloomed all winter but they are really outdoing themselves at the moment.

bloom-day-march-036The ice plant was blooming nicely as well.

Delosperma cooperi

Delosperma cooperi

More snapdragon bloom-day-march-042And here’s another guy that needs identification.

bloom-day-march-0461It’s an agave that I planted this past fall.  I accidentally threw away the tag and can’t remember it’s name.  It’s really pretty tho.  Love those blooms.bloom-day-march-047bloom-day-march-051The label on this salvia said it was blue.  I guess it had other ideas.

Celosia argentea

Celosia argentea

This celosia had a nice bloom on it today.bloom-day-march-059Nice petunia bloom.

bloom-day-march-060Marigolds in bloom

Tibouchina urvilleana

Tibouchina urvilleana

The princess flower is still blooming nicely

Citrus x paradisi 'Oro Blanco'

Citrus x paradisi 'Oro Blanco'

The grapefruit tree is starting to bloom.  I wish I could post the fragrance.  It really is intoxicating.

Lathyrus odoratus

Lathyrus odoratus

The little sweet pea blooms in the vegetable garden.  I also had a nice tomato bloom but couldn’t get a good camera angle on it.

Lantana horrida

Lantana horrida

And this is the unfortunately named lantana horrida.

Leucophyllum frutescens

Leucophyllum frutescens

And the rains brought out the first blooms of the season on the cenizo.  bloom-day-march-074I’m not sure what this succulent is.  I know it’s African and technically it’s in bud and not bloom, but it was so cute I thought I’d include it.

And last but not least…

Cercis occidentalis

Cercis occidentalis

the redbud tree is in full flower.  That’s always a welcome sign of spring.

Anyway, that’s all that’s flowering in my garden today.  A big thank you to Carole at May Dreams Gardens (http://maydreamsgardens.blogspot.com/)  for starting this great tradition.

Happy Gardening.

9 Responses to “Bloom Day March 15, 2009”

  1. Sweet Bay Says:

    You have a lot blooming in your garden! I love the pansies and the Dianthus “Spooky Mix”.

  2. Jean Says:

    You’ve got some lovely blooms there! The mystery rose looks really pretty as does your agave. And I like your idea to throw the California poppy seeds all over. I LOVE those plants.

  3. Gayle Madwin Says:

    I wish my poppies and redbud would bloom like yours! And I especially like your verbena – maybe I should buy some verbena of my own.


  4. Gorgeous–every one of them! I was going to comment on particular ones, but your list is so very long, each one seemed to outdo the previous one! Your weather is far ahead of me in Northern VA. I don’t have that variety in my who yard! Lovely!

  5. layanee Says:

    Such variety. Most are ‘exotic’ to me here in Zone 5b but at least I can see them in your garden.

  6. Jenny Says:

    You certainly have a lot of flowers in your garden and. Tibouchina is a new one to me. Must look into that. I hope you hear about the cactus because I would like to know what it is too. You could also send a photo to Mr Smarty plants at the WFC. I think your verbena is prairie verbena not Verbena bonariensis. The latter blooms on very tall stalks and is not native to Texas. It is quite invasive but a pretty plant all the same. Also I may be wrong but I think your agave is actually an aloe. Agaves are usually but not always monocarpic meaning they die after flowering. You would be familiar with the century plant that sends up a huge candelabra. I think they put so much energy into the flowering that it causes their demise! Look around the nurseries to see if you can identify it. I have a number of succulents that came with no name. If you need an identification then go to the Cactus and Succulent sale at Zilker April4-5th.

  7. Cindy, MCOK Says:

    Wow, Randy, your garden is full of blooming beauties! That rose looks a bit like Coral Beauty to me but I don’t remember it getting that big. As for the cactus, it might be a type of Opuntia.

    I wish I’d remembered to plant my California poppies … SIGH. Next fall!

  8. Cheryl Says:

    Awesome, even more blooming than the last time I was there! Glad your little African sedum is blooming…isn’t it pretty!

  9. Karl Katzke Says:

    Randy – The agave pictures look a lot like something that I was told is a type of Aloe Vera plant…

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/karlkatzke/tags/aloe

    I don’t have a name for it either, but the blooms match. The person who gave it to me was 99% sure it’s some sort of aloe.


Leave a Reply

